South Wicklow Drama Festival

Kilrush Drama Group

Brief History of Kilrush Drama Group:


  • Kilrush Drama Group celebrate their 50th Anniversary in 2014.
  • Kilrush Drama Group was formed under the auspices of a Kilrush Muintir na Tire in January 1964 and was known as the Ballyroebuck Dramatic Society.
  • The first production was "The Matchmakers"  a One Act comedy by Seamus Kelly directed by Mick Byrne who has been the backbone of the Group over the last four decades, and has directed all but three of the Group's productions.
  • The Group's first Drama Festival appearance was in Kilmuckridge in 1965 with a Three Act Comedy "The Wind from The West".
  • Kilrush Drama Group won the All Ireland Confined Finals in Kilmuckridge in 2015 with their production of 'Poor Beast in the Rain' by Billy Roche.
  • In 2016 Kilrush began to compete in the Open Section. 

The Group has been on the festival circuit for the past 50 years performing plays by such playwrights as John B Keane, Brian Friel, Tennessee Williams, Moliere, TC Murray, Samuel Beckett, Neil Donnelly, Thornton Wilder, Martin McDonagh, Anton Chekhov and Marina Carr.

Kilrush Drama Group Committee 2017/18


Officers:  President:  Fr. Joe Power Chairman: Cathy Tighe   Vice Chairman: Maeve Hunter Minutes Secretary: Lar Duffy. Festivals Secretary: Lorna Doran McEvoy Treasurer:  Tommy Kavanagh  PRO Mary Doran  Social Media:   Lorna Doran McEvoy Committee: PJ Arthur, Tom Byrne, Mick Byrne, Kevin McEvoy, Eamonn Doran, Roy Douglas, Ger Byrne, Dougie Doyle, Anne Sheridan, Jacinta Kavanagh, Kieran Tyrrell and Máire Doran.



Photography for this website by Eamonn Doran & Lorna Doran
Full resolution copies of all the photos on the web site available. Contact