Our Town

Kilrush Drama Group performed Our Town by Thornton Wilder at festivals in Lislea, Rush, Kilmuckridge, Wexford, Gorey and Ballyduff in West Waterford getting two wins, a second and a third enabling them to qualify for the Confined All Ireland in Rossmore, Co. Cork which took place from 19th – 27th April 2013. Kilrush performed in Rossmore on Tuesday 23rd April 2013.

Congratulations to Ger Byrne who won an All Ireland Award for Best Stage Management and also to Cora Tyrrell who was presented with a special gift of books from the adjudicator, Padraic McIntrye. Congratulations also to Ellie Condron who was nominated for Best Supporting Actress, Michael Dunbar who was nominated for Best Actor and to Kevin McEvoy, Billy Molloy and Martin Austin who were nominated for a Best Lighting award.

2013 Festival Circuit Awards Success

Congratulations to Mick Byrne who won two Best Producer awards, Michael Dunbar who won Best Actor awards, Seamus Burnell who won a Best Supporting Actor Award, Ellie Condren who won Best Actress & Best Supporting Actress awards, Anne Sheridan & Marie Dunne who won a joint Best Supporting Actress Award, Cora Tyrrell who won an Adjudicator’s Award, Paddy Byrne who won a Best Sound Award, Ger Byrne who won a Best Stage Manager Award, Jacinta Kavanagh who won a Best Costumes Award, Lar Duffy & the choir who won an adjudicator’s award and Kevin McEvoy who won an adjudicator’s award for lighting.

Also well done to all involved on winning the Best Play in the Diocese of Ferns in Gorey, a Best Presentation Award in West Waterford and an Adjudicator’s Award for the logistics of organising our 36 strong cast. Break a leg to all involved in the Confined All Ireland in Rossmore.


Stage Manager (Narrator) Michael Dunbar
Mr. Webb Maurice Ruth
Mrs. Webb Marie Dunne
Emily Webb Ellie Condren
Wally Webb Richard O‘Toole
Mr. Gibbs Joe Sinnott
Mrs. Gibbs Anne Sheridan
George Gibbs Conor Lambert
Rebecca Gibbs Cora Tyrell
Joe Crowell Seamus Mulhall
Howie Newsome Din Doran
Professor Willard PJ Arthur
Woman in the audience Majella Tyrell
Man in the audience Andy Byrne
Simon Stimson Kieran Tyrell
Mrs. Soames Mary Doran
Constable Warren Seamus Burnell
Si Crowell Seamus Mulhall
Baseball players Cathal Murphy & Colm Murphy
Sam Craig Timmy Connaughton
Joe Stoddard Jose Dowse
Townspeople Stephen Ellis, Mary Jo Byrne, Robbie Willoughby, John McEvoy, Lorna Doran, Roy Douglas, Ger Byrne, Tommy Kavanagh, Anna Hennessy, Meg Tyrell, Margaret Dowse, Jane Kinsella, Robbie Willoughby, Jacinta Kavanagh and Clare Douglas


Directed / Produced by Michael Byrne
Stage Manager Ger Byrne
Set Construction Lar Duffy, Ger Byrne, Owen Lydon, Mark Murray
Musical Director Lar Duffy
Set Design Lar Duffy & Michael Byrne
Hair Marion O’Toole
Lighting Kevin McEvoy
Sound Paddy & Tom Byrne, Dougie Doyle
Make-up Lorna Doran & Meg Tyrell
Costumes Jacinta Kavanagh
Stage Crew Tommy Kavanagh, Roy Douglas & Stephen Ellis

Setting: Grover’s Corners, New Hampshire. Period: 1901 – 1907

Symposis of the Play:

In Our Town, Thornton Wilder set out to bring realism, and to celebrate the innocent, simple and religious. Yet he tried to endow individual experience with cosmic significance. Our Town is both an affectionate portrait of American Life and ‘an attempt to find a value above all price for the smallest events in our daily life’. The play has become a classic of the American Theatre.

Set at the turn of the 20th century, the play reveals the ordinary lives of the people in the small town of Grover’s Corners, New Hampshire, U.S.A. The play focuses particularly on the lives of George Gibbs, a doctor’s son, and Emily Webb, the daughter of a newspaper editor. Act I takes place in 1901 and depicts a typical day in the town. Act II, which takes place in 1904, shows the wedding of George Gibbs and Emily Webb. Act II, which takes place in 1913, depicts the interaction between Grover’s Corners dead townspeople and the living ones.